Written by John Kuhens on March 6, 2015

There is an old saying that defense wins championships, there should be a saying that defense wins semi finals. That was the case Thursday afternoon when 7th ranked Nevada held #1 ranked and high scoring Mediapolis to just 45 points in the 3A semi final at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines Thursday, Nevada put up 52 points and now advances into the 3A championship game Saturday at 4 p.m. vs Pocahontas who won the other semi 58-43 over Crestwood. The Nevada Cubs jumped out to a 12-7 1st quarter lead and never relinquished it to the Bullettes who had a cold shooting day from the field and free throw line. They shot 31% from the field, 6% from 3 point range and made only 18 of 30 free throw attempts. Leading scorer was Andrea Larson with 22 points, Darby Massner scored 10. The Bullettes also were hampered by foul trouble, Heidi Hillyard their leading rebounder played only 14 minutes before fouling out. Mediapolis ends the year with a 25-1 record.

The Iowa Wesleyan College women and men play basketball today in the consolation round of the USCAA National Basketball Tournament in Pennsylvania. The Wesleyan women play at 11 a.m. this morning against Apprentice School. The IWC men play at 5 p.m. against St. Josephs of Brooklyn, New York.

The Southeast Conference has announced their all conference selections for boy’s basketball. Freshman Brady Sartorius was the only Panther to make 1st team.  He’s joined by Miles Wentzien of Ft. Madison and Johnny Dahl of Keokuk who were the co-most valuable players. Also 1st team selections:

David Nagel – FM (12)

Chris Ailes-Jones – Keo (12)

Brady Sartorius – MP (9)

Jordan Reid – FF (11)

Mt. Pleasant had no 2nd team selections, their honorable mention selections were:

Jordan Magnani and Kieran Kohorst.


Danville High School is holding a community meal and pep in the multi-purpose room from 5-7 p.m. rally to honor the Danville boy’s basketball team going to state. Free will donations will be accepted to cover state tournament expenses for the team. Sunday March 8th there will be a send off at 1 p.m. in the Danville High School parking lot.    


The 2015 registration for the Mt. Pleasant Girls Softball ages pre-K-12th grade will be held March 7th and 14th at Van Allen Elementary from 8 a.m. to 11 a.m. Registration forms are also available at

2015 GIRLS STATE TOURNAMENT BASKETBALL NOTES: S.E Iowa is represented by Pat Ensminger and Micah Shull both of Mt. Pleasant who are officiating games at the State Tournament. The E. Wayne Colley Award this year goes to MacKenzie Swanson of Harlan. Nominees for the award from the KILJ listening area were: Darby Massner of Mediapolis, Kaitlyn Johnson of Van Buren, Macy Merek of Washington. Darby Massner of Mediapolis was also named to the Iowa Basketball Coaches Association Academic All State team. The Iowa Girls Coaches All Star games will be played March 28th and 29th at Kirkwood College in Cedar Rapids. Players selected to play from the KILJ listening area: Andrea Larson and Heidi Hillyard of Mediapolis, Kaitlyn Johnson of Van Buren, Taylor Hickey of Notre Dame and Kelsey Pretz of Columbus Community. Todd Rogers of Mediapolis was selected to coach one of the teams. The All Iowa Drill Team will perform during the halftime of 3A championship game, area girls selected for that squad are: Sidney Taylor and Allison Buckert of Mt. Pleasant. Faith Cingle and Kyra Lamartine of Central Lee.