Written by John Kuhens on February 25, 2015

Mt. Pleasant High School boys bowling team finished 5th at the State Bowling Tournament in Des Moines Tuesday rolling a 2924 score. Ft. Dodge won the title with a 3223, led by Alex Markow who rolled a 480 series. Clayton Sammons had the best series for the Panthers he rolled a 411 series good for 17th place.

Keokuk won the 2A girls title again with a 2971 total, Sydney Kramer was state champion with a 429 series.


Danville and Holy Trinity Catholic won at Waco last night in the Class 1A District semi final boy’s basketball games. Danville won over Van Buren for the 3rd time this season by a score of 79-66, but it wasn’t easy. The #2 ranked and undefeated Bears led 16-10 at the end of the 1st quarter and by 16 points at halftime. That didn’t discourage Van Buren as they back to with 7 points in the 2nd half led by the performance of Garrett Saunders who put up 26 points. Danville put up the points they needed and their always dependable defense got them some stops and steals to pull away for their 23rd win of the season and put them in the District final at Notre Dame High School tomorrow night. Leading the Bears in scoring was Connor Hoelzen with 25 points, Mason Speer added 19.

Holy Trinity Catholic won the other semi final with a 53-51 win over Winfield Mt. Union. The Crusaders had their leading scorer for the season Blake Hellweg go to the bench early in the 3rd period with foul trouble. Luke Fukllenkamp was called upon to fill in for him and fill in he did with 17 points to lead his team in scoring, Hellweg hit for 16 before fouling out midway through the 4th quarter. For WMU Zac Davis scored 21 points, Sam Jennings scored 12. The Wolves end the year with a 13-10 record, Holy Trinity Catholic goes to Thursday nights District final with a 16-7 record with two losses to Danville in the regular season 71-45 and 77-23. KILJ-FM 105.5 and will carry the contest live beginning at 7 p.m.


West Burlington boys basketball team won a thrilling District Class 2A championship in Panther Gym at Mt. Pleasant High School last night over Highland by a score of 45-44. The Falcons were led by Clay Siefken with 13 points. West Burlington will take their 14-10 record into the Substate championship game Saturday night in Muscatine against 19-4 Iowa City Regina who won over Wilton in the District final last night 45-42.


The Iowa Wesleyan Tiger women’s and men’s teams wrapped up the regular season last night at Eureka College. The Tiger women won 75-70 led by Whitney Godden with 17 points. Wesleyan finished the regular season 18-6 over all and 15-2 in the conference.

The Tiger men lost 65-59, Chris Fowler had 20 points. The Wesleyan men end the regular season 12-11 overall and 8-9 in the conference.

The USCAA has announced the teams for the 2015 National Tournament that takes place March 3-7 in Uniontown, Pennsylvania at the campus of Penn State Fayette.

The Iowa Wesleyan women’s basketball team was selected as the 2 seed for the tournament and will take on 7 seed, Alfred St. out of New York at 11:00 am on March 4th.

The Iowa Wesleyan men’s basketball team earned a bid to the tournament as well. They picked up the 7 seed in the tournament and will face 2 seed Berea College out of Kentucky March 4th, at 3:00 pm.

The Tiger men and women play at Eureka College tonight in SLIAC conference play, this is the last regular season game of the year, last Saturdays game with Principia College was postponed and so far hasn’t been rescheduled.


NORTH DIVISION                                                             SOUTH DIVISION

1st TEAM ALL-CONFERENCE                                         1st TEAM ALL-CONFERENCE

Andrea Larson, Sr. Mediapolis                                   Taylor Hickey, Sr. Notre Dame

Heidi Hillyard, Sr. Mediapolis                                   Riley Kilbride, Jr. Notre Dame

Darby Massner, Sr. Mediapolis                                 Kori Mescher, Sr. Notre Dame

Gywnne Wright, Jr. Pekin                                            Haley Edwards, Sr. Central Lee

Beth Atwood, Jr. Pekin                                                 Kelsey Bryant, Sr. Central Lee

Kelsey Pretz, Sr. Columbus                                         Brittany Mathison, Sr. Central Lee

Aaliyah Brown, Sr. WACO                                            Morgan Christner, Jr. New London

Chelsey Lampe, Sr. Highland                                      Delaney Ridgway, Jr. Cardinal

Mackenzie Rogers, Fr. Mediapolis                           Nicole Wilkens, Sr. Holy Trinity Catholic

Karlie Wade, Sr. Winfield-MU                                  Kaitlyn Johnson Sr. Van Buren  

PLAYERS OF THE YEAR                                   PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Andrea Larson, Sr. Mediapolis                                   Kaitlyn Johnson, Sr. Van Buren

COACH OF THE YEAR                                      COACH OF THE YEAR

Todd Rogers – Mediapolis                                           Tony Johnson – Holy Trinity Catholic


Mt. Pleasant Park and Rec Department announces their Little Dunkers basketball program for 1st & 2nd graders.

The youngsters in the program will learn how to dribble, pass, shoot! This is an instruction program for boys and girls in 1st & 2nd grade. Children will learn the basics of basketball through fun instructional drills. Youth sized basketballs and lowered baskets will be used. Program will be instructed by the MPCHS Varsity Boys Basketball Head Coach, Paul Rundquist.

Registration Ends: February 27

Program Dates: March 9-12

Time: 5-6pm

Location: Cottrell Gym

Fee: $20 residents and $25 non-residents