Written by John Kuhens on April 30, 2015

Mt. Pleasant Middle School 8th grade boys ran at the Ft. Madison Relays Tuesday. In the 8th grade division M.P. finished 1st with 154 points, Burlington was 2nd with 127, there were 6 teams total in the field. 1st place Panther finishers…10 flight hurdle relay-Tucker Johnson, Samuel Beatty, Tate Shull and Zach Beason. 100 meter dash and 10 flight hurdles-Chase Lamm. 200 meter hurdles-Tabian Waddle.
MPHS wrestler Colton Mertens wrestled in a tournament at Luther College in Decorah this past weekend. Colton finished 2nd place in his weight class.
ON THE LOCAL SPORTS SCENE TODAY: MPHS boy’s golf at Moravia Tournament, Holy Trinity at MPHS girls tennis, MPHS boys tennis at Notre Dame. MPHS girls track at WACO Relays, MPHS boys track at Grinnell, MPHS girls soccer at Fairfield, Fairfield at MPHS boys soccer. FRIDAY: Albia at MPHS boys soccer, Ft. Madison at MPHS girls tennis, MPHS boys tennis at Ft. Madison, Mt. Pleasant Middle School girls track at Keokuk. SATURDAY: MPHS girls golf at Central Lee Tournament, MPHS boys golf at Fairfield Tournament
Mt. Pleasant Panther 2015 boy’s Summer Basketball Camp registration is open for elementary thru high school boys. The 1st 1 week camp will be held June 22nd thru June 25th and week 2 will be July 13th thru 16th. Elementary camp is for 3rd thru 5th graders. Middle School camp for 6th thru 8th and High School camp is for 9th thru 12th graders. Camps will be conducted by Coach Paul Rundquist, and his staff. If you have questions contact coach Rundquist for more details.

Iowa Wesleyan College is excited to announce that Shottenkirk of Mount Pleasant will be sponsoring the Athletic Hall of Fame and Awards Ceremony. This event is being held to honor the student athletes that participated and excelled in the classroom and in their field of play at Iowa Wesleyan. It is also an opportunity to recognize the Hall of Fame inductees and their accomplishments during their time at the college. The banquet is scheduled for May 1, 2015. A reception will be held from 6:30-7:00 p.m. with the ceremony beginning at 7:00 p.m. The honorees for 2015 will be Bernita Rohlfing class of ’53, Kenneth Sutton ’58, Marcus Washington ’92 and Floyd Turner class of 2008. After the ceremony, the Hall of Fame reception will be held in the Social Hall.
The Iowa Wesleyan College Tiger Club will host a golf tournament on June 12, 2015 at Spirit Hollow Golf Course in Burlington, Iowa. The tournament will be organized by the athletic department, and the event will benefit Tiger student-athletes. Registration for the event is now available at and can be completed online or by mailing in the registration form. There is limit of thirty-six teams for the tournament. Contests will be held at several different holes throughout the course and will include hole in one, longest drive, longest putt, and closest to the pin. A cocktail reception will take place after the completion of play, and raffle drawings will be held at that time. Iowa Wesleyan would like to thank the sponsors for helping make this event possible. Matt Lafrenz , a Country Financial agent, and Two Rivers Bank and Trust will be recognized as the title sponsor for the event. Country Financial is also the sponsor for the hole in one contest.
On Sunday May 3rd the Mt. Pleasant Golf and Country Club will host the Darrel Brown Memorial 3 man best shot tournament for members and non-members. Tee off is at 10 a.m. the cost is $60 per team. Sunday May 17th is the women’s opening day best shot tournament with a 10 a.m. tee off. Memorial Day Monday May 25th there is a men’s 3 man best shot tournament for members and non-members at 8 a.m. for $60 per team. A 4 couple alternating best shot tournament will be held at 1:30 p.m. Cost is $80 per team for members and non-members.
The Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union and Iowa High School Athletic Association has announced the teams that will be competing in the state qualifying meet at Mt. Pleasant on May 14th………Clear Creek Amana, Davenport Assumption, Fairfield, Fort Madison, Keokuk, Solon, and Washington.