Written by John Kuhens on April 29, 2015

MPHS girls track team won the Keossippi Relays at Keokuk with 159 points, 2nd place Ottumwa had 97 and then the rest of the field of 8 teams. Mary Wester won the shot put 40’ 7” and Discus 119’ 8”. Ellie Conrad won the 1500 in 5:12.8. Hannah Becker won the 100 meter hurdles in 14.96 and set a new meet record in winning the 400 hurdles in 1:06.1. M.P. also won the 4×100 relay in 52.24, the 4 x200 in 1:52.05, 4×800 in 10:05 and the shuttle hurdle relay in 1:07.58.

MPHS boys track team ran at the Davis County Relays Tuesday and finished 2nd in the team scoring.
Albia 131
Mt. Pleasant 123
Oskaloosa 117
Davis County 100
Ft. Madison 49
Centerville 30
Scotland 2
Panther 1st place finishes:
Shuttle – 1st – 60.75 Brock Wilson, Jake Lowe, Keegan Rich, Spencer White

110 Highs – 1st – Cole Phillips – 14.34

100 Dash – 1st – Cole Phillips – 10.93

Discus – 1st – Ben Canby – 163′ 6″

Shot – 1st – Ben Canby – 52′ 4″

The New London Coed Invitational track meet was run at Maple Leaf Track in Mt. Pleasant yesterday. Waco girls won the team title with 127 points, Danville was 2nd with 120, WMU 3rd with 91. New London was 5th 51 pts.
Wapello won the boy’s division with 123 pts., WMU 2nd, New London 3rd 80.

Mt. Pleasant girls golf team won again, they beat Keokuk at Lake Cooper Golf Course in Keokuk 192-264. Elle Schliesman medaled with a 41. Keri Herr 49, Haley Booton and Emily Cox 51’s, Cali Liechty 53 and Haley Spence 58.

M.P. boys golf team competed in a tournament at Oskaloosa shooting a 340 for 6th place, Williamsburg won the event with a 317. Jordon Phomsouvandara shot 80, Riley Kuempker shot 85, Trevor Mabeus 87, Beau Parkevich 88, William Kinney 89, and Jeff cox 90. The Panther JV won their division with a 377 score led by Jacob Feldman with a 90 score.

As part of its officials recruiting and education program, the Iowa High School Athletic Association will be hosting FREE baseball umpire clinics around the state in April. The clinic for S.E Iowa will be held at
Iowa City, West High School Wednesday, April 29, 2015 .
Equipment needed for the clinics is: an umpire mask and umpire cap. Other items for new officials as well as veterans will be available for purchase at each site. The Clinic will cover positioning for calling balls and strikes, base coverage, new rules and overall baseball umpiring mechanics.
Anyone interested in getting involved in umpiring at any level is welcome free of charge. Those desiring to umpire at the high school level, must register with the Iowa High School Athletic Association. Information can be obtained at click on officials at the top of the page, click on online registration, fill out the paper work and use a debit or credit card to pay your dues. You will receive a password for your account.
From April 27-May 5 umpires will be able to take the online open book exam, which must be passed and view the online rules meeting. Those having questions can call Roger Barr, Director of Officials at 515-432-2011.
The Iowa Wesleyan College Tiger Club will host a golf tournament on June 12, 2015 at Spirit Hollow Golf Course in Burlington, Iowa. The tournament will be organized by the athletic department, and the event will benefit Tiger student-athletes. Registration for the event is now available at and can be completed online or by mailing in the registration form. There is limit of thirty-six teams for the tournament. Contests will be held at several different holes throughout the course and will include hole in one, longest drive, longest putt, and closest to the pin. A cocktail reception will take place after the completion of play, and raffle drawings will be held at that time. Iowa Wesleyan would like to thank the sponsors for helping make this event possible. Matt Lafrenz , a Country Financial agent, and Two Rivers Bank and Trust will be recognized as the title sponsor for the event. Country Financial is also the sponsor for the hole in one contest.
Iowa Wesleyan College is excited to announce that Shottenkirk of Mount Pleasant will be sponsoring the Athletic Hall of Fame and Awards Ceremony. This event is being held to honor the student athletes that participated and excelled in the classroom and in their field of play at Iowa Wesleyan. It is also an opportunity to recognize the Hall of Fame inductees and their accomplishments during their time at the college. The banquet is scheduled for May 1, 2015. A reception will be held from 6:30-7:00 p.m. with the ceremony beginning at 7:00 p.m. The honorees for 2015 will be Bernita Rohlfing class of ’53, Kenneth Sutton ’58, Marcus Washington ’92 and Floyd Turner class of 2008. After the ceremony, the Hall of Fame reception will be held in the Social Hall. Reservations for the event can be made by contacting the Alumni Office at 319-385-6215 by April 15, 2015.
On Sunday May 3rd the Mt. Pleasant Golf and Country Club will host the Darrel Brown Memorial 3 man best shot tournament for members and non-members. Tee off is at 10 a.m. the cost is $60 per team. Sunday May 17th is the women’s opening day best shot tournament with a 10 a.m. tee off. Memorial Day Monday May 25th there is a men’s 3 man best shot tournament for members and non-members at 8 a.m. for $60 per team. A 4 couple alternating best shot tournament will be held at 1:30 p.m. Cost is $80 per team for members and non-members.