Written by John Kuhens on April 28, 2015

Mt. Pleasant defeated Fairfield in Southeast Conference golf on the Mt. Pleasant Golf and Country Club Course by a score of 178-194. Haley Booton was medalist with a 41 score. Elle Schliesman shot 44, Emily Cox shot 45, Cali Liechty 48, Keri Herr 49 and Halley Spence 58.


MPHS girl’s soccer team won over Washington in a 3-0 shutout. Lauren Ralls, Hattie Liechty and Shyla Hiler scored Panther goals. Tiffany Liechty had 5 saves in goal.


MPHS boy’s soccer defeated Washington last night 4-2. Tanner Ruby scored 2 goals, Zoom Gwamna and Jack Pieper also scored.


Mt. Pleasant Middle School girls track teams ran at the Fairfield Middle School Monday.

7th grade:

1st place:

Shuttle Hurdle Relay (Maggie Cristoforo, Paige Stater, Kenna Smith, Serenity Keomanivong)

1500 meter run  Abby Ryon

800 meter run Abby Ryon

100 meter hurdles  Serenity Keomanivong


8th grade results:

1st place:

100 meter hurdles  Maddie Willliamson


The Mount Pleasant Trap Team traveled to the Tri-States Gun Club in Montrose where the Ft Madison Team hosted on Monday. The Mount Pleasant Panther Trap Team came away from this meet with seven individuals placing in the top three in their respective class and six squads finishing in the top three as well in their respective classes. Jenna Smith finished 1st in the Rookie Division. In Intermediate Entry Jake Moutrie took first. In the Intermediate Advanced Mount Pleasant swept the top three with Parker Baugh 1st, Aaron Bodenham 2nd and James Kinney 3rd. In the Junior Varsity division Lane Ridenouor took 2nd and Kinsey Bruggemeyer finished 3rd. For the Intermediate Entry Squads swept the top three with Squad #1 of Izaak Lance, Jacob Simmons, Jake Moutrie, Braden Denning and Levi Mills in 1st, Intermediate Entry Squad #2 of Tristan Scovel, Ryan Borders, Brier Klossing, Abraham Wilson and Gabe Leichty- 2nd and Intermediate Entry Squad #3 of Will Francy, Traden Barton, Blake Davis, Katelynn Gardner and Tyler Raub finished 3rd.  For the Intermediate Advanced, Squad #1 of Parker Baugh, Aaron Bodenham, James Kinney, Nate Wallace and Clayton Loving took 1st. Junior Varsity Squad #1 of Colin Mills, Kinsey Bruggemeyer, Dalton Smith, Lane Ridenour and Shayla Rotenburger took 1st. For Varsity, Squad #1 of Wolfgang Schumacher, Grace Davidson, Ashley Hummell, August Bunger and Alyssa Smith finished 3rd.



ON THE LOCAL SPORTS SCENE TODAY: MPHS boy’s golf at Oskaloosa, MPHS girl’s golf at Keokuk, MPHS boys track at Davis County, MPHS girls track at Keokuk.

THURSDAY: MPHS boy’s golf at Moravia Tournament, Holy Trinity at MPHS girls tennis, MPHS boys tennis at Notre Dame. MPHS girls track at WACO Relays, MPHS boys track at Grinnell, MPHS girls soccer at Fairfield, Fairfield at MPHS boys soccer. FRIDAY: Albia at MPHS boys soccer, Ft. Madison at MPHS girls tennis, MPHS boys tennis at Ft. Madison, Mt. Pleasant Middle School girls track at Keokuk. SATURDAY: MPHS girls golf at Central Lee Tournament, MPHS boys golf at Fairfield Tournament


The Iowa Wesleyan College Tiger Club will host a golf tournament on June 12, 2015 at Spirit Hollow Golf Course in Burlington, Iowa. The tournament will be organized by the athletic department, and the event will benefit Tiger student-athletes. Registration for the event is now available at and can be completed online or by mailing in the registration form. There is limit of thirty-six teams for the tournament. Contests will be held at several different holes throughout the course and will include hole in one, longest drive, longest putt, and closest to the pin. A cocktail reception will take place after the completion of play, and raffle drawings will be held at that time. Iowa Wesleyan would like to thank the sponsors for helping make this event possible. Matt Lafrenz , a Country Financial agent, and Two Rivers Bank and Trust will be recognized as the title sponsor for the event. Country Financial is also the sponsor for the hole in one contest.

Iowa Wesleyan College is excited to announce that Shottenkirk of Mount Pleasant will be sponsoring the Athletic Hall of Fame and Awards Ceremony. This event is being held to honor the student athletes that participated and excelled in the classroom and in their field of play at Iowa Wesleyan. It is also an opportunity to recognize the Hall of Fame inductees and their accomplishments during their time at the college. The banquet is scheduled for May 1, 2015. A reception will be held from 6:30-7:00 p.m. with the ceremony beginning at 7:00 p.m. The honorees for 2015 will be Bernita Rohlfing class of ’53, Kenneth Sutton ’58, Marcus Washington ’92 and Floyd Turner class of 2008. After the ceremony, the Hall of Fame reception will be held in the Social Hall. This year the Athletic Hall of Fame ceremony will also tie into the student-athlete awards program. Student-athletes will be recognized for Academic All-Americans, Academic All-Conference, USCAA All-American, SLIAC All-Conference, and other awards. Iowa Wesleyan will also be announcing the winners of the Male and Female Outstanding Scholar-Athlete of the Year and Male and Female Athlete of the Year awards. The nominees for the Male Outstanding Scholar-Athlete of the Year are as follows: senior men’s soccer player, Matt McLaughlin, junior men’s golfer, Zac Cronkhite, junior on the football team, Nate Daniels, and junior men’s basketball player, Joe Lennon. The nominees for the Female Outstanding Scholar-Athlete of the year include: Lauren Grubb, senior women’s basketball member, Lindsey Johnson, senior on the volleyball team, Savanna Blair, senior women’s soccer player, and Sam Shepard, senior softball player.The 2015 nominees for Female Student-Athlete of the Year are as follows: Karla Vietinghoff, women’s basketball, Cierra Howard, volleyball, Sam Shepard, softball, and Katie Bang, women’s soccer. The Male Student-Athlete of the Year nominations include: Jeff Burdett, a junior on the baseball team, Chris Fowler, a junior on the basketball team, and Raul Lozano, a senior football player.

 On Sunday May 3rd the Mt. Pleasant Golf and Country Club will host the Darrel Brown Memorial 3 man best shot tournament for members and non-members. Tee off is at 10 a.m. the cost is $60 per team. Sunday May 17th is the women’s opening day best shot tournament with a 10 a.m. tee off.               Memorial Day Monday May 25th there is a men’s 3 man best shot tournament for members and non-members at 8 a.m. for $60 per team. A 4 couple alternating best shot tournament will be held at 1:30 p.m. Cost is $80 per team for members and non-members.