Written by John Kuhens on April 16, 2015

Trevor Mabeus captured medalist honors for the Mt. Pleasant Panther boys golf team yesterday in a quadrangular played at the Flint Hills course in Burlington. Mabeus carded a 73 score as Mt. Pleasant finished 2nd to Washington in the meet. The Demons had a 330 total, M.P. shot 333, Notre Dame-West Burlington 366 and Ft. Madison had a 367. Other Panther scores were: Riley Kempker 84, Jordon Phomsouvandara 88, William Kinney 88, Beau Parkevich 90 and Jeff Cox 91.

Mt. Pleasant High School will be sending more outstanding hurdlers to The University of Northern Iowa track program. Kelsi Phipps and Cole Phillips signed national letters of intent to attend UNI and run track. Phipps and Phillips are both having outstanding senior seasons and have turned in performances that make them definite candidates to contend for Drake Relays Championships next week and State Championships next month. Also announcing their college plans yesterday were the Soukup twins who were standout basketball players at Danville and then for Southeastern Community College. Michael and Steven are now going to be preferred walk-ons at the University of Iowa and will have two years of eligibility left to play for coach Fran McCaffery. The Hawkeyes also signed a scholarship player, Christian Williams a 6’ 6” guard from Decatur, Ill. He is the 5th player to sign a letter of intent for next year’s freshman class.

Iowa Wesleyan softball team split a conference double header with Eureka College Wednesday. Tigers fell in the 1st game 6-5 but rallied to win the nightcap 3-2. The Tiger baseball team dropped a single game to Washington University 15-10.

Once again in June the Mt. Pleasant Panther Alumni football team will play the Washington Demons. This year’s matchup will be on Evans Field June 13th at 7 p.m. Former MPHS football players who are interested in playing in the game should go to and signup also visit the MP Alumni facebook page. Bob Jensen will be coaching, proceeds from the event will go to Iowa City Childrens Hospital.

On the local sports scene today: Denny White Relays for boys track teams at Maple Leaf Track 5 p.m. MPHS boy’s golf hosts Ft. Madison, MPHS boys soccer host Keokuk, MPHS boys tennis hosts Fairfield, MPHS girls tennis at Fairfield, MPHS girls track team at Tipton, MPHS girls soccer at Keokuk. Friday: The MPHS girls golf team plays at Fairfield and the Middle School boys track teams run at Burlington. Saturday: MPHS boys tennis at Muscatine Tournament.

The Iowa Wesleyan College Tiger Club will host a golf tournament on June 12, 2015 at Spirit Hollow Golf Course in Burlington, Iowa. The tournament will be organized by the athletic department, and the event will benefit Tiger student-athletes. Registration for the event is now available at and can be completed online or by mailing in the registration form. There is limit of thirty-six teams for the tournament. Contests will be held at several different holes throughout the course and will include hole in one, longest drive, longest putt, and closest to the pin. A cocktail reception will take place after the completion of play, and raffle drawings will be held at that time. Iowa Wesleyan would like to thank the sponsors for helping make this event possible. Matt Lafrenz , a Country Financial agent, and Two Rivers Bank and Trust will be recognized as the title sponsor for the event. Country Financial is also the sponsor for the hole in one contest.

Iowa Wesleyan College is excited to announce that Shottenkirk of Mount Pleasant will be sponsoring the Athletic Hall of Fame and Awards Ceremony. This event is being held to honor the student athletes that participated and excelled in the classroom and in their field of play at Iowa Wesleyan. It is also an opportunity to recognize the Hall of Fame inductees and their accomplishments during their time at the college. The banquet is scheduled for May 1, 2015. A reception will be held from 6:30-7:00 p.m. with the ceremony beginning at 7:00 p.m. The honorees for 2015 will be Bernita Rohlfing class of ’53, Kenneth Sutton ’58, Marcus Washington ’92 and Floyd Turner class of 2008. After the ceremony, the Hall of Fame reception will be held in the Social Hall. Reservations for the event can be made by contacting the Alumni Office at 319-385-6215 by April 15, 2015.