MAY 1, 2015

Written by John Kuhens on May 1, 2015

MPHS girls track team won the large school division of the Eckstrand Relays at Waco with 176 points ahead of Washington who had 134 points. WMU was 5th, Waco 8th, New London was 12th. Hannah Becker won the 100 and 400 meter hurdles races, Kelsi Phipps the 400 meter dash, Ellie Conrad won the 1500 meters, Natalie ita captured the 800 meter run. Katie Ensminger, Allison Buckert, Kelsi Phipps and Danielle Coffin won the 4×100 relay, Natalie Ita, Taylor Murray, Laura Holt and Ellie Conrad won the 4×800. The distance medley quartet of Kristin Smith, Asiah Zaragoza, Carolyn Lutovsky and Ellie Conrad finished 1st.
Lone tree won the boy’s division of the Ekstrand Relays with 130 points, Waco finished 8th, WMU 10th and New London 13th.

MPHS boys track team won the Grinnell Relays Thursday.
Mount Pleasant – 138
Pella – 116
Grinnell – 107
Knoxville – 99
South Tama – 87
Newton – 63
BGM – 49
Eddyville – 27
Logan Murray – 3200 – 1st – 10:12
Shuttle – 1:02.44 – 2nd – Brock Wilson, Keegan Rich, Cole Burns, Spencer White
Cole Phillips – 110 High – 1st – 14.44
Logan Murray – 1600 – 1st – 4:41
Spencer White – 400 Lows – 1st – 57.75

MPHS boy’s golf team played at Moravia Thursday on the Preserve Course. Centerville topped the 19 team field with a 304 score. Mt. Pleasant shot 338, Jordon Phomsouvandara finished 5th in the medalist competition and was low for the Panthers with a 75, Jeff Cox shot 87, William Kinney and Trevor Mabeus shot 88’s and Beau Parkevich shot 90.

Mt. Pleasant Panther girl’s tennis team blanked Holy Trinity Catholic 9-0 at Mt Pleasant East Lake Park courts. This is the 1st win of the season for M.P.
Singles winners: #1 Ashton Whaley (MP)
#2 Jessica Holtkamp (MP)
#3 Aline Thiengmany (MP)
#4 Hannah Wickham (MP)
#5 Afton Engberg (MP)
#6 Meagan Woodard (MP)
Doubles: #1 Ashton Whaley/Jessica Holtkamp (MP)
#2 Aline Thiengmany/Emily Larson (MP)
#3 Hannah Wickham/ AftonEngberg (MP)

MPHS girls soccer team fell in overtime to Fairfield 2-1 after the Lady Trojans hit a penalty kick in the 1st O.T. period. Lauren Ralls had the Panther goal.
Fairfield defeated the MPHS boys in soccer 9-2, M.P. had a 2-1 halftime lead. Zoom Gwamna and Mathew Pounsavan had goals.

Notre Dame-West Burlington defeated the MPHS boys in tennis 6-3. Austin Meyer won #1 singles for M.P. Ben Zihlman won #2 singles. The #2 doubles team of Zihlman and Matt Thorne also picked up a win.

Iowa Wesleyan swept a baseball double header against Robert Morris winning game 1 by a score of 11-1 and the nightcap 11-5.

The St. Louis Intercollgeiate Conference has announced the All-Conference Awards for the 2015 softball season. Iowa Wesleyan had two players earn three awards.
Kristine Becks was named Second Team All-Conference outfielder for her play this season. Becks started all 32 games for the Tigers this season. On the year, she had a batting average of .326 and had 31 hits. Becks had a fielding percentage of .922 this season with 44 putouts, 3 assists, and just four errors on the year.
Samantha Shepard earned Third Team All-Conference Utility honors, and was also named to the SLIAC All-Sportsmanship team.
ON THE LOCAL SPORTS SCENE TODAY: FRIDAY: Albia at MPHS boys soccer, Ft. Madison at MPHS girls tennis, MPHS boys tennis at Ft. Madison, Mt. Pleasant Middle School girls track at Keokuk. SATURDAY: MPHS girls golf at Central Lee Tournament, MPHS boys golf at Fairfield Tournament
Steven Holloway, 2 time 195 pound state wrestling champion from Mediapolis High School has announced he will wrestle for the Iowa Hawkeyes. Holloway will be redshirted next year at Iowa and then will be competing for the 197 pound weight class.
Mt. Pleasant Panther 2015 boy’s Summer Basketball Camp registration is open for elementary thru high school boys. The 1st 1 week camp will be held June 22nd thru June 25th and week 2 will be July 13th thru 16th. Elementary camp is for 3rd thru 5th graders. Middle School camp for 6th thru 8th and High School camp is for 9th thru 12th graders. Camps will be conducted by Coach Paul Rundquist, and his staff. If you have questions contact coach Rundquist for more details.

Iowa Wesleyan College is excited to announce that Shottenkirk of Mount Pleasant will be sponsoring the Athletic Hall of Fame and Awards Ceremony. This event is being held to honor the student athletes that participated and excelled in the classroom and in their field of play at Iowa Wesleyan. It is also an opportunity to recognize the Hall of Fame inductees and their accomplishments during their time at the college. The banquet is scheduled for May 1, 2015. A reception will be held from 6:30-7:00 p.m. with the ceremony beginning at 7:00 p.m. The honorees for 2015 will be Bernita Rohlfing class of ’53, Kenneth Sutton ’58, Marcus Washington ’92 and Floyd Turner class of 2008. After the ceremony, the Hall of Fame reception will be held in the Social Hall.
The Iowa Wesleyan College Tiger Club will host a golf tournament on June 12, 2015 at Spirit Hollow Golf Course in Burlington, Iowa. The tournament will be organized by the athletic department, and the event will benefit Tiger student-athletes. Registration for the event is now available at and can be completed online or by mailing in the registration form. There is limit of thirty-six teams for the tournament. Contests will be held at several different holes throughout the course and will include hole in one, longest drive, longest putt, and closest to the pin. A cocktail reception will take place after the completion of play, and raffle drawings will be held at that time. Iowa Wesleyan would like to thank the sponsors for helping make this event possible. Matt Lafrenz , a Country Financial agent, and Two Rivers Bank and Trust will be recognized as the title sponsor for the event. Country Financial is also the sponsor for the hole in one contest.
On Sunday May 3rd the Mt. Pleasant Golf and Country Club will host the Darrel Brown Memorial 3 man best shot tournament for members and non-members. Tee off is at 10 a.m. the cost is $60 per team. Sunday May 17th is the women’s opening day best shot tournament with a 10 a.m. tee off. Memorial Day Monday May 25th there is a men’s 3 man best shot tournament for members and non-members at 8 a.m. for $60 per team. A 4 couple alternating best shot tournament will be held at 1:30 p.m. Cost is $80 per team for members and non-members.