County Supervisors Meet

Written by Theresa Rose on January 21, 2015

The Henry County Supervisors approved an exit agreement with the three counties that want to leave the Regional Utility Service System Commission. Henry County is a member of the RUSS commission along with 9 other counties under a binding 28E agreement. Mahaska, Wapello and Washington Counties want out, something the agreement doesn’t allow for. But the three threatened to vote against any new projects in the service area and all ten members must be in favor before any project can move forward. After much discussion and disagreement over a lengthy period of time, the other seven members including Henry County have finally said that if the three will pay a lump sum each reflecting four and a half years of operating dues, then they may withdraw. Each departing county will pay $61,425 by October 1. Not all of the remaining seven have signed the exit agreement yet. The members of RUSS are Des Moines, Jefferson, Keokuk, Lee, Louisa, Van Buren and Henry Counties.
Henry County Conservation Director John Pullis shared some future plans with the county supervisors while presenting his budget proposal at Tuesday’s board meeting. The conservation department fiscal year 15-16 projects include a new roof and insulation for the maintenance building, purchase of a skid loader and continuing with a concrete project for the office drive and parking. Pullis also said there are funds in his budget for land acquisition should the opportunity arise in the next year. Pullis also informed the supervisors that the conservation board recently voted to keep the current schedule of department rates and fees.