Written by John Kuhens on May 17, 2018

Mt. Pleasant girls shuttle hurdle relay ran a time of 1:09.23 with Serenity Keomanivong, Maddie Williamson, Karsyn Lamm and Kalynn Batey.

Khang Truong finished 6th in his 100 meter dash prelim in a time of 11.58, did not make finals.

MPHS boys 4×800 relay 6th in 8:12.55…Jonathan Ita, Jacob Stukerjurgen, Brody Bender and Kyle Vanderham

MPHS girls’ 4×800 relay 10th 9:54.46.  Maggie Cristoforo, Maggie Jennings, Cristina Carthey and Taylor Murray.

Zach Beason finishes 5th in the discus throw for MPHS 160′ 4″, Tristan Dirth of MP 24th with toss of 131′ 9″

Cody Mertens scored 5 points for the M.P. Panthers as he placed 4th in 3200 meter run 9:44.46.  Mathew Hellige of Ft. Madison 22nd 10:36.34

Rylan Seberg ran 6th in his 200 prelim heat had a time of 23.27, Tate Shull was 8th in his heat 24.10, neither to finals

Abby Ryon finished 19th in 3000 run with a time of 11:23.32

Alyssa Striegel threw 107′ in 3A discus for MPHS  finished 14th

Sam Beatty jumped 5’11” in high jump he finished 14th

MPHS boys shuttle hurdle relay ran in the prelims with Keegan Rich, Chase Lamm, Cole Burns and Jake Lowe and ran a 57.31 to win the heat and have the fastest qualifying time so far.

Waco ran in the boys’ Class 1A shuttle hurdle relay and were disqualified

Alyssa Pfadenhauer of Danville a state champion in the 1A 400 meter dash in a time of 57.05, she was 2nd as a freshman, 3rd as a sophomore and now #1.  Suzanna Yoder of IMS was 10th in 61.30

Angel Baylark of Burlington finished 4th in the 400 meter dash Class 4A in 58.35.  The winner with another all time best was Sydney Milani of S.E. Polk in 52.90

Emily Yahnke of Highland won the 1A girls long jump 17′ 8.5″, Aly Stokes of Highland 11th at 16′ 1/4″

Dallas Bell of New London finished 17th in the Class 1A 400 meters in 52.93, Brandon Snowden of WMU 18th in 53.04

Casey Shalla of Lone Tree 18th in 1A shot put 45′ 1.5″

Brandon Snowden WMU 6th in his heat of 1A 100 prelim and 10th overall  in 11.5.  Colby Aschenbrenner of Cardinal 4th in his heat and 12th overall 11.51 neither in finals.

Jenna Hummell New London in the 100 meter dash prelim ran 13.04 finished 5th in her heat and 11th overall. Emily Yahnke of Highland finished 2nd in her heat 12.50 made the finals as 3rd fastest, Suzanna Yoder of IMS 6th in that heat 13.39 not in finals. Fastest 1A qualifier Ellie Loesch of S. Winn in 12.59.

Girls’ 1A shot put, Anna Hudson of WMU threw 31′ 2.75″ for 24th place.  Winner Abby Marr of Riceville 40′ 8.5″

Brandon Snowden WMU ran 3rd in his heat of 1A 200 meters 23.42 he made the finals, fastest time was by Tavares Boykins Clarinda Academy 22.54. Mason Aschenbrenner Cardinal ran 23.06 he in finals.

Danville’s Alyssa Pfadenhauer had the 3rd fastest qualifying time in 200 meter prelims running 26.0, fastest was by Ellie Loesch of S. Winn 25.74.  Kathryn Luers of Danville ran 4th in her heat in 26.38 and Jenna Howell of New London was 5th in that heat in 26.79.  Luers made finals Howell did not An all time best time in the class 4A 200 meters by Sydney Milani of S.E. Polk she ran 23.93 she fastest going to finals.

Class 1A boys’ 3200 run Levi Geyer IMS 10th 10:14.5….New record for winner Gable Sieperda Central Lyon 9:09.6 broke hos won record set last year of 9:15.3

Girls’ 1A 3000 meter run Addison Parrott of Danville 10th 11:20, Lexi Brown New London 11th 11:22, winner was Emma Lucas of Bedford 10:04.31.

Waco girls’ shuttle hurdle relay did not make finals ran 1:11.63 finished 17th with Molly McLaughlin, Grace Conwell, Laney Graber, Kiana Miller. Sigourney was fastest in prelims 1:07. Burlington ran 1:12 and did not make finals Waukee ran 1:02.1 5th best ever to be quickest.