Written by John Kuhens on September 6, 2016


It’s back to action for area athletic teams…..The Mt. Pleasant Middle School 7th and 8th grade football teams open up today at home against Mediapolis….7th grade play at 4:30 and the 8th grade will follow.  Mt. Pleasant travels to New London tonight to play a freshman football game at 7 p.m.  The MPHS volleyball teams freshman thru varsity go to Washington for Southeast conference play.

Mt. Pleasant High School sent their cross country teams to Pella Saturday,  In the boy’s race #1 ranked and defending state champion runner Logan Murray topped a strong field finishing 1st in a time of 16:43, the 8th ranked Panther team finished 2nd with 48 points, Gilbert was the winner with a 37 score.  Other Panther placings had Cody Mertens 4th, Adam Bodenham 7th, Kyle Vanderham 15th and Jonathan Ita 22nd.  Mt. Pleasant High School freshman Abby Ryon finished 2nd in the girl’s race in a time of 20:31, the team was  5th scoring 150 points.  Gilbert won the race scoring 39.  Other MPHS finishes Kelsey Notestein 23rd, DeLaney McDowell 31st, Kendall Dascher 36th and Claire Holtkamp 38th.

The MPHS Freshman volleyball team hosted a tourney Saturday, the Panther team won 1 match and lost 3 to place 3rd in their pool.

The Iowa Wesleyan football team opened up the 2016 season under the lights at Maple Leaf Athletic Complex. They hosted the Rams of Cornell College of Mt. Vernon and fell 51-21.  Iowa Wesleyan will return to action this Saturday afternoon at the Maple Leaf Athletic Complex for a 1 pm kickoff against Westminster College.  The game against the Blue Jays will begin Upper Midwest Athletic Conference play.

Iowa Wesleyan men’s soccer team suffered a 1-0 loss to Martin Luther on Saturday in their final game of the Warrior Cup Tournament hosted by Wisconsin Lutheran .  Iowa Wesleyan’s next match is Wednesday, September 7th. They take on the Rams of Cornell College in Mount Vernon, Iowa.  The match time is set for 5 pm. IW is now 1-1 on the season.  Iowa Wesleyan had two players make the All Tournament Team. Jonathon Armador and Maxwell Trautmann were both selected to the Warrior Cup All-Tournament Team as Midfielders.