Written by John Kuhens on September 21, 2015

Mt. Pleasant participated in the Ottumwa Volleyball Tournament on Saturday.  Panthers fell to Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont, Burlington, Fairfield and Ottumwa.  Panthers are idle till Saturday when they go to the Burlington Tournament.

Iowa Wesleyan hosted conference foe Greenville Saturday and fell 38-27 to the Panthers.  Tigers are now 0-3 overall and 0-2 in the UMAC.  Andrew Terrell scored for IWU on a 40 yard fumble recovery, Jeremy Gomez caught two TD passes of 65 and 58 yards, Bryson Oliver caught a 7 yard scoring strike from QB Caleb Huss.  Tigers led 20-17 at halftime.  This Saturday Wesleyan celebrates homecoming by hosting Robert Morris.

Chariton handed the Mt. Pleasant Panther varsity football team their 4th straight loss as the Chargers chalked up their 4th straight win.  As usual M.P. got on the scoreboard 1st on a 12 play 56 yard drive that ran 5:30 off the 1st quarter clock, Pat Canby got into the end zone on a 1 yard run and Korte Maddy added the PAT.  Then Chariton locked the door for the rest of the game and tacked up 3 scores of their own.  An 18 yard touchdown pass to T.T. Hockenson just before halftime.  Dillon Sanders ran 10 yards in the 3rd quarter to pay dirt.  Then Hockenson did his thing again on a 78 yard pass play to put the game away at the 4 minute mark of the 4th quarter.  Mt. Pleasant next week stays home to play Davenport Assumption who beat Keokuk Friday night 41-0.  Pat Canby carried the ball 38 times for 153 yards and 1 TD.  Joe Hess was 3 of 12 passing for 21 yards and 1 interception.  Dshundric Foster, Pat Canby and Kieran Kohorst each caught one pass.  There were no defensive stats released.

The freshman game was stopped early in the 1st quarter Friday because of lightning and will be finished as part of a double header tonight when Chariton comes to town to play JV football.  5 p.m. is the start time of the twin bill.


Big day of high school and middle school cross country action in Mt. Pleasant tomorrow.  The 2015 Panther Invitational will be hosted by the MPHS cross country teams.  18 area schools will join the Panthers beginning at 4:45 p.m., the course is set up behind the MPHS building.  Ranked teams attending will be the 4th ranked MPHS boys and the 2nd ranked Ft. Madison-Holy Trinity Catholic and 15th ranked Fairfield.  Ranked runners Logan Murray of MPHS  #2 in boys 3A, Garrett Hinson Mediapolis  #26 2A, Gavin Benze Winfield Mt. Union 25th.




1st round action is THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 24 and the final rounds SATURDAY, SEPTEMBER 26 at Southeast Community College

Here are the pools of teams that will compete Thursday to determine who advances onto the final rounds at SCC on Saturday.

At Cardinal               At Notre Dame      At Winfield-MU          At Columbus

Pool # 1                                                Pool # 2                                Pool # 3                                Pool # 4

1. Mediapolis                     1. HTC                                   1. New London                 1. Pekin

2. Cardinal                           2. Notre Dame                  2. West Burlington           2. Highland

3. Lone Tree                       3. Wapello                           3. Winfield-MU                 3. IMS

4. Van Buren                      4. Central Lee                    4. WACO                              4. Danville

5. L-M                                   5. Harmony                         5. Maharishi                       5. Columbus



In celebration of 125 years of Iowa Wesleyan University Football, Tom Horne, Head Coach for the Tiger Football team from 1982-1984, will serve as the grand marshal of the 2015 Iowa Wesleyan University Homecoming parade.

From 1982-1984, Horne was the head coach of the Iowa Wesleyan football team that accumulated a 17-13-1 overall record and had a winning percentage of .564.  Horne was just the second coach to take a Tiger football program into post season competition.  In the 1984 season, Iowa Wesleyan had an 8-4 record and was invited to play in the Sunflower Bowl against Panhandle Oklahoma A & M where the Tigers were defeated 10-7 in overtime.  A six-time coach of the year at the collegiate level, Horne also served as the head coach at Joliet (Ill.) Junior College (1986-88) and Valparaiso University (1989-2004), where he took the Crusaders to two Pioneer Football League Championships (2003, 2000). The 2003 title was the first outright PFL crown for Valpo. The 2000 championship marked the school’s first conference title in 32 years.

The parade will be held on September 26th, beginning at 10:30am in front of the Howe Student Activity Center.  The route will continue south on Broadway, then turn east on Monroe St, then North on Main Street to return to campus.