Written by John Kuhens on March 7, 2015

MPHS boys track team competed in an indoor meet at Cornell College in Mt. Vernon, Iowa. Cole Phillips won the 60 meter hurdles and Spencer White was 3rd. Ben Canby was 2nd in the shot put 47’11 3/4”, Jackson Kelly was 3rd 45’4”. Zoom Gwamna finished 2nd in the long jump at 19’ 9”.

IWC women beat Apprentice School 85-63 in the consolation game at the USCAA Womens National Basketball Tournament in Pennsylvania 85-63 Friday.  1st team All American Karla Vietinghoff scored 22 points, Rachel Williams had 13, Breanna Hall 12, Lauren Grubb and Dakota Flesner scored 11 each.  The Tigers end the year 19-7.

The Tiger men’s basketball team played Florida National in their consolation game and lost 96-79. Leading the Tigers in scoring was Chris Fowler with 20 points before fouling out, Marquis Jones scored 19 and Don Lightner added 13. The Tigers were cold on their 3 point shooting hitting only 3 of 23, Florida National hit 9 of 18- 3’s. Wesleyan ends the season with a 12 win 12 loss record.

Two of the 5 champions have been decided at the 2015 Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union State Basketball Championships. Newell Fonda the team that eliminated Burlington Notre Dame, defeated Springville in the 1A championship 45-43. Taylor Hickey of Notre Dame was named to the All Tournament Team. Unity Christian defeated North Linn 69-40 in the 2A championship. The other 3 championships will be played to tonight beginning at 4 p.m. with class 3A Nevada vs Pocahontas, Harlan plays Western Dubuque in 4A and West Des Moines Valley plays Waukee in the 5A title game.

Six former or soon to retire school administrators will be honored at halftime of the 3A Boys State Basketball tournament championship game Saturday March 14th by the IHSAA for the role they have played in their school’s activity programs that contribute to the total education of their students.

During the boy’s state tournament week Mt. Pleasant High Schools Competition Cheer team performs during 2A action on Tuesday. Four dancers from MPHS will perform Friday three times on the All State Cheer Squad they are: Sidney Taylor, Jessie Sirivath, Claire Pickford and Allison Buckert.

The 2015 registration for the Mt. Pleasant Girls Softball ages pre-K-12th grade will be held March 7th and March 14th at Van Allen Elementary from 8 a.m. to 11 a.m. Registration forms are also available at

The Iowa men’s basketball team ends the regular season hosting Northwestern today with an 11 a.m. tipoff.

The Iowa women’s basketball team beat Nebraska in the Big Ten Tournament last night 74-65, Hawks play Ohio State in the semi finals tonight at 8:30 p.m.

Iowa State Cyclone men play TCU starting at 7 p.m. tonight on KILJ-AM 1130.

Cyclone women play Oklahoma in the Big 12 Tournament

UNI Panther men beat Bradley last night 71-46 and play Loyola Chicago at 4 p.m. today in the Missouri Valley Conference tourney

UNI women play host to Bradley today.

Big Ten wrestling tournament at Ohio State today and tomorrow and Big 12 meet at Iowa State.