Sports February 8th, 2019

Written by Koehler Wendt on February 8, 2019

The Iowa High School Athletic Association has released the tournament brackets for Class 3A and 4A boys basketball. In Class 3A Substate 5 Mt Pleasant will open up the post season against the Keokuk Chiefs on February 18th at Fairfield High School. The winner of that game will play the winner of Fairfield/Centerville on the 21st at the site of the highest seed. On the other side of the bracket top seed Oskaloosa will play South Tama County in the first round and then play the winner of Washington/Fort Madison. The Substate Final will be on February 25th and the location hasn’t been selected yet.


With yesterday’s weather postponing almost all opening round girls basketball games we have a change in our basketball broadcast schedule. Tonight we will be carrying the Winfield-Mt Union at Waco regional tournament game at 5pm. The other local game that was moved was New London at Burlington Notre Dame which will now be played on Saturday at 7pm.


Coming up tomorrow Iowa Wesleyan will host their annual Coaches vs Cancer game during the double header with Greenville. Games played during the period of January 28th-February 10th are part of the St Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference wide plan to raise awareness and collect donations to fight cancer. Members of the IW Student-Athlete Advisory Committee will be collecting pledges for a Wall of Hope with pledges donated to three pointers made in both games. Members of the coaching staffs will be participating in the Suits and Sneakers campaign to raise awareness. The SLIAC was the first conference in the NCAA to partner with the American Cancer Society and dedicate all proceeds to the foundation.

Tomorrow’s matchup for Iowa Wesleyan basketball will have the Greenville Panthers coming to town. Iowa Wesleyan women’s basketball is 5-15 overall and 3-10 in conference games, they will be facing the top team in the SLIAC. Greenville’s women’s team is 17-4 overall and 11-1 in conference play. That game will tipoff at 1pm tomorrow afternoon. Iowa Wesleyan men’s basketball enters tomorrow 6-16 overall and 4-11 in conference games. They will play a Greenville team that is at the top of the conference standings. Panthers are 15-6 overall and 12-2 in SLIAC games, they only behind Webster for the top spot. The men’s game will be at 3pm tomorrow.


Iowa Wesleyan baseball was scheduled to begin their season tomorrow down in Sherman Texas against Austin College. The weather conditions down there look similar to our weather here so the Tigers won’t be playing the Kangaroos this weekend. They will play on the 23rd in Jacksonville Illinois against Northland College in a 4 game series.


Sports scheduled for Mt Pleasant:

Friday: Varsity Bowling will be competing in the conference meet at Arrowhead Bowl against Fairfield, Keokuk, and Washington. It is delayed 1 hour and will now start at noon.

Varsity/JV/Freshman girls basketball will be playing at Washington 4:45/6:15/7:45pm

Varsity/JV/Freshman boys basketball will host Washington 4:45/6/7:30pm (Pack the Gym Night for all Mt Pleasant elementary schools)

Saturday: Varsity Wrestling has their district postseason meet at Cedar Rapids Prairie at noon. They will be competing against Burlington, Cedar Rapids Prairie, Clear Creek Amana, Iowa City (High), Iowa City Liberty, and Iowa City West.

Varsity girls and boys basketball will host Indianola at 2:30/4pm


College basketball:

-Tomorrow #17 Iowa State will host the TCU Horned Frogs for a Big 12 conference game. Cyclones are riding a 4 game winning streak. Game time tomorrow is 1pm and pregame coverage will begin at noon on KILJ 1130am and


Saturday is a big day for Iowa High School wrestlers, it’s District Tournament time, 672 wrestlers will qualify for the individual state wrestling tournament that begins on Valentines Day at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines. The Mt. Pleasant Panthers wrestle in the 3A District at Cedar Rapids Prairie, action at noon tomorrow.  The Panthers will be up against host school Prairie along with Burlington, Ft. Madison, Clear Creek-Amana along with Iowa City High, Iowa City West and Iowa City Liberty.  The top two wrestlers in each weight advance onto the state meet next week.  MPHS has two ranked wrestlers James DeMeyer at 170 pounds and Zach Beason at 220 pounds.

Class 2A wrestlers from the area will gather at Washington High School for a District.  Some area wrestlers vying for State Tournament appearances are:  Freshman 106 pounder #2 ranked Blaine Frazier of Notre Dame-West Burlington-Danville will have a 1st round matchup with Lane Scorpil of Columbus Community-Winfield Mt. Union.  At 138 pounds undefeated and 3rd ranked Jarod Kadel of Columbus Community-WMU who finished 2nd at the State Tournament last year will open the day with a match against Simon Ball of Davis County.  Notre Dame-WB-Danville has two other wrestlers in this district with Tucker Moore at 170 and Drake Fox at 285 pounds.

Class 1A area teams gather at Wilton for their District. At 106 pounds New London freshman  5th ranked Marcel Lopez will open up with Bryce Thompson of Lone Tree, 6th ranked Kael Brisker of Wilton is in the other semi final at that weight class against Waco’s Larz Smith.  New London also has Gabe Carter at 170, Cameron Raines at 195 and Jaxon Allen at 220 pounds trying to advance.  Waco has Jonah Clark at 120, Jalen Collins 126, and Robert Frazier at 145 pounds.  Quinten Aney of Mediapolis at 113 pounds opens up against 10th ranked Colton Meeker of Wapello.  Mediapolis has Caden Benz at 152, Caleb Lalonde at 160, Hunter Aney at 182, Keegan Akers at 220 pounds and Brennan Breuer at 285  pounds vying for tickets to state.  Van Buren High School sends 120 pounder Bruce Claman to the mat along with Teddy Metcalf at 132, Caleb Stoltz at 170 and Tayton Bartholomew to try and qualify for state.  KILJ will have updates throughout the afternoon and evening on FM 105.5 and our website, facebook and twitter.


The field is set for the 2019 Team Dual Wrestling Championships.  Action begins at 9 am Wednesday morning in the 8 team brackets.  The #1 seeds are Class 3A S.E Polk, 2A PCM Monroe and 1A Don Bosco.  Here are the teams that have qualified:

Class 3A—Ankeny Centennial; Bettendorf; Epworth, Western Dubuque; Fort Dodge; Southeast Polk; Valley, West Des Moines; Waukee; Waverly-Shell Rock.

Class 2A—Assumption, Davenport; Crestwood, Cresco; Independence; Osage; PCM Monroe; Sergeant Bluff-Luton; Solon; West Delaware, Manchester.

Class 1A—Denver; Don Bosco, Gilbertville; Emmetsburg; Logan-Magnolia; Lake Mills; Lisbon; Missouri Valley; West Sioux, Hawarden.