Written by John Kuhens on February 26, 2015

The #2 ranked and undefeated 23-0 Danville Bears tangle with the 16-7 Holy Trinity Catholic Crusaders in boys Class 1A District Championship basketball at Burlington Notre Dame high school tonight.  These two team qualified for this game by winning semi final games at Waco Tuesday night.  Danville beat Van Buren and HTC edged Winfield Mt. Union.  This is the 3rd meeting between the two teams from the southern Division of the Super Conference, Danville has won both 71-45 and 77-23.  The winner advances on to play the winner of the District Championship between Sigourney and Lynnville Sully in the Substate at Fairfield Saturday night.  KILJ-FM 105.5 and will broadcast tonight’s game beginning at 7 p.m.

In Class 3A District championship play #5 ranked Ft. Madison will play #10 Keokuk at Burlington High School at 7 p.m. tonight.



NORTH DIVISION                                        SOUTH DIVISION

1st TEAM ALL-CONFERENCE                                    1st TEAM ALL-CONFERENCE

Andrea Larson, Sr. Mediapolis                              Taylor Hickey, Sr. Notre Dame

Heidi Hillyard, Sr. Mediapolis                                Riley Kilbride, Jr. Notre Dame

Darby Massner, Sr. Mediapolis                             Kori Mescher, Sr. Notre Dame

Gywnne Wright, Jr. Pekin                         Haley Edwards, Sr. Central Lee

Beth Atwood, Jr. Pekin                                          Kelsey Bryant, Sr. Central Lee

Kelsey Pretz, Sr. Columbus                                   Brittany Mathison, Sr. Central Lee

Aaliyah Brown, Sr. WACO                          Morgan Christner, Jr. New London

Chelsey Lampe, Sr. Highland                                Delaney Ridgway, Jr. Cardinal

Mackenzie Rogers, Fr. Mediapolis                       Nicole Wilkens, Sr. Holy Trinity Catholic

Karlie Wade, Sr. Winfield-MU                               Kaitlyn Johnson Sr. Van Buren    

PLAYERS OF THE YEAR                               PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Andrea Larson, Sr. Mediapolis                              Kaitlyn Johnson, Sr. Van Buren

COACH OF THE YEAR                                   COACH OF THE YEAR

Todd Rogers – Mediapolis                          Tony Johnson – Holy Trinity Catholic


The Iowa men’s basketball team beat Illinois last night 68-60 in Carver Hawkeye Arena, Iowa State lost at home against Baylor 74-73, UNI men won over Evansville 68-57.


Mt. Pleasant Park and Rec Department announces their Little Dunkers basketball program for 1st & 2nd graders.

The youngsters in the program will learn how to dribble, pass, shoot! This is an instruction program for boys and girls in 1st & 2nd grade. Children will learn the basics of basketball through fun instructional drills. Youth sized basketballs and lowered baskets will be used. Program will be instructed by the MPCHS Varsity Boys Basketball Head Coach, Paul Rundquist.

Registration Ends: February 27

Program Dates: March 9-12

Time: 5-6pm

Location: Cottrell Gym

Fee: $20 residents and $25 non-residents


Iowa Wesleyan College women will play Alfred State College of Wellsville, New York in the 1st round of the USCAA National Basketball Tournament at 1 pm on Wednesday March 4th.  The school is located in extreme south central New York State, with 3500 students.  Their record is 18-6 and they are appearing in a national tournament for the 1st time in their programs history.  They are led by Haley Witchella a senior who is the all time leading scorer, she averages 21 points a game and 14 rebounds.
The Wesleyan men will play at 5 p.m. Wednesday March 4th against Berea College of Berea, Ky. located south of Lexington.  This is their 1st appearance in the USCAA Tournament, they went to the NAIA National Tournament in 1999.  The Mountaineers are 19-5 and had won five games in a row until they lost their last game in double overtime to Ohio Christian.