Written by John Kuhens on December 30, 2015

SPORTS December 30, 2015


Iowa Wesleyan women’s basketball team lost Tuesday morning to Wisconsin River Falls 52-44 in a tournament in Dayton Beach, Florida. Rachel Williams scored 13 points, Darby Massner freshman from Mediapolis scored 12 points and grabbed 6 rebounds. Tiger women and men host Principia Saturday.

Iowa knocked off #1 ranked Michigan State in men’s Big Ten basketball last night in Carver Hawkeye Arena 83-70.  Mike Gesell scored 25 points, Peter Jok hit for 19, Jarrod Utoff had 10.  Hawks head to Purdue Saturday and KILJ-FM will broadcast the game beginning at 4 p.m.  Purdue beat Wisconsin last night 61-55.


It finally happened, the Mt. Pleasant high School girls softball team qualified for the State summer Softball Championships in Ft. Dodge.  After many years of trying they succeeded at home  in their Regional Championship battle against 8th ranked Davenport Assumption beating the Knights 3-1.

Their season came to an end as they lost in the 5th place consolation game against conference foe Fairfield.  The Lady Trojans edged the Panthers 4-3 in a see-saw battle.  MPHS ended the year 21-22.

New London High School brought home a 3rd place finish from the 2015 Class 1A State Summer Softball Championships after beating River Valley 4-0 in the 3rd place consolation game.  Morgan Christner  earned All Tournament Team honors.  Breanna Metler  also was named to the All Tournament Team as she batted over .500 for the tourney.  New London finished the season 32-3.

The Southeast Conference softball coaches  named the softball all conference teams.  MPHS 1st team selection Shelby Allender.  2nd team-Julie Lasswell, Allison Buckert, and Bailey Johnson.  Honorable mention-Jackie Fraise and Sarah Moffett.  .  Academic All Conference Hattie Liechty, Jenna Stukerjurgen, Morgan Fraise.


The MPHS baseball team handed out post season honors at their awards banquet.  Defensive player of the year Austin Smith, Offensive Player Pat Canby, Rookie of the Year Tyler Davis, Most Improved Player Spencer Braun, Coaches Award Tyler Ruby.  The MVP award was shared by Brady Anderson and Pat Canby.


Dave Streeter was named the new head varsity volleyball coach at MPHS during a July school board meeting.  Streeter had been coaching in the New London district as a middle school coach.

The Southeast Conference baseball all conference honors have been announced.  From Mt. Pleasant High School making 1st team was Brady Anderson, Pat Canby, Austin Smith and Taylor Alliman.  2nd team honors went to Marcus Moothart, Zac Ebling, Tony Cristoforo and Beau Parkevich.  Honorable mention honors went to Tyler Davis, and Ryan Moutrie.

A Winfield weight lifter Cozy Cozine competed in the Iowa Games Masters 50-59 class and won.  He also won the Men’s Open bench press title.  His lift of 445 pounds broke his own Iowa Games record.


Kiley Miller a sophomore at Iowa Wesleyan won the Club Championship at the Mt. Pleasant Golf and Country Club Monday defeating Mike Wilson on the 27th hole as he sank a 40’ birdie putt.  Patrick Zielinski also from the IWU golf team won the consolation match over Jim Becker