Written by John Kuhens on April 20, 2015

MPHS girl’s golf team was in action Friday at home against Fairfield. Panthers won over the Trojans 193-200, Haley Booton and Elle Schliesman each shot 47 to lead the home team to victory.  Cali Liechty added a 49, Emily Cox and Ally Lowe shot 50’s, Haley Smith had 62.

Iowa Wesleyan softball lost a double header Saturday to Greenville College by scores of 7-1 and 8-3. The Tiger baseball team tangled with Westminster College and dropped all 2 games Saturday by scores of 17-0 and 14-1. Sunday the Tigers fell 19-3.

The Mount Pleasant Trap Team played host to ten schools for the 2015 Mount Pleasant Panther Trap Invitational on Saturday April 18th. The Mount Pleasant Panther Trap Team came away from this home meet with fourteen individuals placing in the top three in their respective class and two squads finishing in the top three as well in their respective classes. In the Rookie Ladies and in Intermediate Entry Ladies, Brier Klossing finished first. The intermediate advanced men completed the sweep with Aaron Bodenhame in first. Junior Varsity individuals Kinsey Bruggemeyer finishing first. The sweep of individual medals as Alyssa Smith took first. Intermediate Entry Squad #1 of Izaak Lance, Levi Mills, Brier Klossing, Tristan Scovel, Jacob Simmons finished first. Intermediate Advanced Squad #1 of Parker Baugh, James Kinney, Aaron Bodenham, Larry Heitmeier, Nate Wallace ended in first as well. The Mount Peasant Panther Trap Team travels to Montrose to the Tri-States Gun Club where Fort Madison will be host on April 27th.
The Drake Relays will be held this week in Des Moines, Mt. Pleasant High School girls and boys track teams will be well represened.
For Dave Hutchcrofts girls team, Mary Wester will throw the discus and shot put.  Kelsi Phipps will run all the hurdle events, 100 meter, 400 meter and shuttle hurdle relay and will be on the 4×100 relay.  Hanna Becker will run the 100 meter hurldles, shuttle hurdle and 4×100 relays.  Sidney Taylor and Allison Buckert will run the shuttle hurdle relay. Katie Ensminger and Danielle Coffin will run legs on the 4×100 relay.
The MPHS boys team will have Ben Canby throwing the shot and discus.  Cole Phillips will run the 110 high hurdles, the 400 hurdles and the shuttle hurdle and 4×100 meter relay.  Spencer White will run the 110 highs and shuttle hurdle relay.  Jake Lowe will run in the shuttle hurdle.  Brock Wilson will be in the shuttle hurdle relay.  Zoom Gwamna, Tony Cristoforo and Dshundric Foster will be in the 4×100 relay.
Some other area athletes going to The American Track Classic:  Lou Krieger-Coen of WMU and Heidi Hillyard Mediapolis girl’s discus. 
Mitchell Martin of Danville high jump, Bryce Achen of Waco 100 meter dash.

On the local sports scene today:   Monday: MPHS girls golf at Washington, Ft. Madison at MPHS girls soccer at East Lake Pitch, MPHS boys soccer at Ft. Madison. Tuesday: MPHS boy’s golf at Keokuk, Notre Dame at MPHS girls tennis East Lake Courts, Middle School boy’s track at Keokuk, Middle School girls track at Ottumwa, MPHS boy’s track at Mid Prairie, Mt. Pleasant High School girls track relays at 5 p.m. 18 schools competing.

Once again in June the Mt. Pleasant Panther Alumni football team will play the Washington Demons. This year’s matchup will be on Evans Field June 13th at 7 p.m. Former MPHS football players who are interested in playing in the game should go to and signup also visit the MP Alumni facebook page. Bob Jensen will be coaching, proceeds from the event will go to Iowa City Childrens Hospital.

The Iowa Wesleyan College Tiger Club will host a golf tournament on June 12, 2015 at Spirit Hollow Golf Course in Burlington, Iowa. The tournament will be organized by the athletic department, and the event will benefit Tiger student-athletes. Registration for the event is now available at and can be completed online or by mailing in the registration form. There is limit of thirty-six teams for the tournament. Contests will be held at several different holes throughout the course and will include hole in one, longest drive, longest putt, and closest to the pin. A cocktail reception will take place after the completion of play, and raffle drawings will be held at that time. Iowa Wesleyan would like to thank the sponsors for helping make this event possible. Matt Lafrenz , a Country Financial agent, and Two Rivers Bank and Trust will be recognized as the title sponsor for the event. Country Financial is also the sponsor for the hole in one contest.

Iowa Wesleyan College is excited to announce that Shottenkirk of Mount Pleasant will be sponsoring the Athletic Hall of Fame and Awards Ceremony. This event is being held to honor the student athletes that participated and excelled in the classroom and in their field of play at Iowa Wesleyan. It is also an opportunity to recognize the Hall of Fame inductees and their accomplishments during their time at the college. The banquet is scheduled for May 1, 2015. A reception will be held from 6:30-7:00 p.m. with the ceremony beginning at 7:00 p.m. The honorees for 2015 will be Bernita Rohlfing class of ’53, Kenneth Sutton ’58, Marcus Washington ’92 and Floyd Turner class of 2008. After the ceremony, the Hall of Fame reception will be held in the Social Hall. Reservations for the event can be made by contacting the Alumni Office at 319-385-6215 by April 15, 2015.

On Sunday May 3rd the Mt. Pleasant Golf and Country Club will host the Darrel Brown Memorial 3 man best shot tournament for members and non-members. Tee off is at 10 a.m. the cost is $60 per team. Sunday May 17th is the women’s opening day best shot tournament with a 10 a.m. tee off.               Memorial Day Monday May 25th there is a men’s 3 man best shot tournament for members and non-members at 8 a.m. for $60 per team. A 4 couple alternating best shot tournament will be held at 1:30 p.m. Cost is $80 per team for members and non-members.