Results of the 18th annual Mt. Pleasant Marching Band Invitational

Written by Theresa Rose on September 19, 2016

Class 1A/2A was won by Wapello, followed by Highland from Missouri, Central Lee, Mediapolis and Highland of Riverside.


Class 3A top honors was awarded to Benton Community, followed by Marion, Mount Vernon, Fort Madison, Washington, West Liberty, Davis County and Solon.


Class 4A saw Davenport Central place first, followed by Francis Howell North from St. Charles, MO, Cedar Rapids Jefferson and Muscatine.


Caption awards among the small schools were won by Central Lee for best color guard, Highland from Missouri for best drum major and best drumline and Wapello for best horn line.


For medium size schools, Benton Community took caption awards for best drum major and color guard while Marion was awarded best drumline and horn line.


Among the large school division, Davenport Central had best drum major and horn line while Cedar Rapids Jefferson had best drumline and Francis Howell North best color guard.


The Lennis Moore Fan Appreciation Award, named after long-time invitational public address announcer Lennis Moore, went to Benton Community who had the most fans attending with 84, as determined by admission ticket sales.


And finally, Francis Howell North won the Sweepstakes Award, given to the band that had the highest combined scores from the Mt. Pleasant Invitational and the Fort Madison Band Classic held earlier in the day.