On the Ballot in the Mt. Pleasant School Board Election

Written by Theresa Rose on July 30, 2015

It looks like the slate is set for the Mt. Pleasant School Board vote September 8. There are six of seven seats open in the regular election. The candidates who filed papers by the 5 pm deadline Thursday, July 30 are as follows:
District 1 – David Christensen
District 3 – Karl Braun
District 4 – Chuck Andrew
District 5 – Joy Lynn Conwell
At-Large – (2 positions) – Jennifer Crull, David McCoid, Terry Jerrel

Christensen, Braun and Andrew are already on the board so they are seeking re-election. Joy Conwell is seeking the seat held by Brad Holtkamp. Holtkamp was not up for re-election but recently announced he would resign following the regular September school board meeting. That placed his seat on the ballot. Current school board members Ken Feldman and Lon Morrow are up for re-election but did not file papers to run again for their at-large seats. Current board president Regina Erikson represents District 2. Her term is up in 2017. Christensen was recently appointed to the seat held by Lyle Murray who resigned. Braun was elected to complete the term of Melody Yaley. Andrew ran in a special election and was elected to the board when he beat Heather Snavely who was originally appointed to the board to replace Michelle Skubal who also resigned. While it seems confusing, due to the circumstances surrounding their placement on the board all three are required to run in the regular election on September 8.