MP Students Selected for Honor Band

Written by Theresa Rose on January 7, 2019

Seven Mount Pleasant Community School District music students were chosen to the 2019 Southeast Iowa Bandmasters Association Honor Band based on auditions held on Saturday at Fairfield High School.

Selected to the Middle School Honor Band were seventh graders Elaina Holtkamp and Gabriela Perez on clarinet and eighth graders Bryce Wilson on percussion and Danielle Muhs on trombone. Picked for the High School Honor Band were sophomore Kionna Parrish on trumpet and juniors Claire Holtkamp on contrabass clarinet and Annika Rynders on alto saxophone.

The SEIBA Honor Band Concert will be held at Iowa City West High School on Saturday, January 19. The students will rehearse with guest conductors during the afternoon, and give an evening concert. The middle school bands will present their concert at 5:00 p.m., followed by the high school bands at 6:00 p.m.