Local Counties Could See Disaster Relief Funds

Written by Anna Greiner on July 23, 2015

Governor Terry Brandstad has delivered a request for Presidential Disaster Declaration for 19 Iowa counties that experienced significant damage from winds, tornadoes, heavy rains, hail and thunderstorms from June 20th through the 25th. Counties on that list include Des Moines, Jefferson and Lee. Branstad is requesting funds from the Federal Emergency Management Agency to be used to rebuild damaged infrastructure such as roads, bridges, culverts and public facilities as well as covering the costs of emergency work during and debris removal after the storms. A preliminary damage assessment found the weather caused an estimated $5.1 million worth of damage that is eligible.