Iowa Soybean Association awards $15,000 in scholarships

Written by Theresa Rose on May 6, 2015

ANKENY, IOWA — The Iowa Soybean Association (ISA) has awarded $15,000 in scholarships to recognize nine outstanding high school seniors who will pursue agriculture degrees at Iowa universities.

“It’s encouraging to see so many excellent students preparing to positively impact farming,” said Tom Oswald, ISA president and farmer from Cleghorn. “We’re pleased to provide assistance to this group of future leaders as they continue their education to the benefit of Iowa and the world.”

Individual scholarships of $1,500 were awarded to one student in each of Iowa’s nine crop reporting districts. This year’s recipients include:

District 1: Oliva Albright, Milford
District 2: Amanda Anderson, Algona
District 3: Alana Platte, Fairbank
District 4: Nicole Huser, Sac City
District 5: Rebecca Rae Wiarda, Ackley
District 6: Austin Neighbor, Center Point
District 7: Joesph Blake, Shenandoah
District 8: Josie Burgett, Pleasantville
District 9: Macy Marek, Washington

An additional $1,500 overall state scholarship is presented annually to one of the nine scholarship winners. This year’s recipient is Marek.

To be considered for the scholarships students had to be high school seniors with plans to pursue a secondary education in an agriculture related area of study at an Iowa college. They also submitted an application that included a 650-word essay on the impact they intend to make on the

agriculture industry.