Written by Theresa Rose on July 16, 2015

WEST DES MOINES, Iowa – July 16, 2015 – The Iowa Farm Bureau Federation Young Farmer Advisory Committee elected new officers,including a Henry County resident, and filled three district seats with new representatives to the committee at their summer meeting last weekend. The new committee officers include:

Chasen Stevenson of Marion County, Chair
Mindy Miller of Emmet County, Vice Chair
Leanne Kading of Adair County, Secretary
Laura Cunningham of Floyd County, PR Chair
Brooke Smith of Henry County, Historian
Brooke lives with her husband Adam and their two daughters on their farm in Mount Pleasant where they raise cattle, corn, soybeans, and chickens. Brooke is also the K-12 Vocal Music Director at Lone Tree Community Schools.

Chasen grew up on a fourth generation family farm. After graduating from Iowa State University in 2010, he farmed with his dad and brother in the Knoxville area, raising corn, soybeans, hay, and cattle. He and his wife Justine bought a farm on the western edge of Marion County in 2012.

Mindy and her husband Ryan have three children and raise corn and soybeans and operate a successful fertile egg facility. Mindy is a registered nurse who works part time for Holy Avera Family Hospital in Estherville, and is also a part time Parent Educator Coordinator for Prairie Lakes Area Education Agency.

Leanne and her husband Phillip live on a farm near Adair with their three children, where they grow corn, soybeans, oats, and hay.

Laura and her husband Aaron raise crops and antibiotic-free beef on their family farm. Laura also writes a blog — Life on SkyView Farms— about the family farm.

The new representatives added to the committee last weekend include Aaron and Laura Cunningham, District 2; Grant and Brianne Streck, District 4; and Eric and Laura Fynaardt, District 6. The new committee members will each serve a three-year term and act as liaison for the district they represent.

The IFBF Young Farmer program, available for Farm Bureau members ages 18 to 35, provides leadership and participation opportunities to nurture the prosperity of young farm families. The program advisory committee plans various events around the state each year, including an annual statewide conference each January.