Honor Choir

Written by Theresa Rose on October 17, 2016

Seven Mt. Pleasant Community School District music students have been selected to the 2016 OPUS Honor Choir. Chosen to the 7th and 8th grade choir are Andrew Rauenbuehler, Carter Foerch, Drake Snavely and Katie McCormick. Selected to the 9th grade choir is Claire Holtkamp, Paige Stater and Charles Bryant. They will join others from around Iowa in a 4:00 pm concert on Thursday, November 17  at Stephens Auditorium on the campus of Iowa state University in Ames.


The OPUS Honor Choir Festival is an annual event that is sponsored by the Iowa Choral Director’s Association.  The festival consists of four choirs; a two-part 5th-6th grade mixed chorus, 7th-8th grade boys choir, 7th-8th grade girls choir, and a 9th grade mixed ensemble.  Each year, thousands of students from across the state of Iowa audition to be a part of these select groups with only 160 students selected for each choir.