Written by John Kuhens on February 13, 2015

The Class 1A-2A and 3A wrestling districts will be wrestled Saturday beginning at noon. The top two place finishers in each weight class will qualify for the traditional state wrestling tournament next Thursday through Saturday at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines.

Mt. Pleasant is hosting a Class 3A District. Joining the Panthers will be Burlington, Ft. Madison, Iowa City High, Iowa City West, Keokuk, Oskaloosa and Ottumwa. Iowa City West is ranked #8 in the class 3A team rankings. Here are the ranked individuals who will be wrestling in Panther Gym. 106-Harlan Steffensmeier Ft. Madison 4th . 113-Brant O’Shea Keokuk 10th. 120-Drew Sams Oskaloosa 10th. 126-Skyler DeJong Oskaloosa 2nd, Nelson Brands Iowa City West 6th, Cam Sadeghi Keokuk 9th, Colton Mertens Mt. Pleasant 10th. 132-Tanner Hocker Ft. Madison 8th. 138-Chase Seaney Ft. Madison 7th. 145-Wyatt Schlotter Ottumwa 8th. 170-John Milani Iowa City West 3rd, Cody Jones Oskaloosa 7th, 182-Dakota Shaw Keokuk 2nd, Isaiah Cox Ottumwa 8th.

Class 1A District will be wrestled at Wilton, New London has 4 wrestlers involved and Waco 2.  Samuel Loyd of New London will be in the 106 lb. weight class he has #6 ranked T.J. Schott of Regina in the 1st round.  At 138 Reno Chiri of New London has #1 ranked Carter Happel of Lisbon in the 1st round, #8 ranked Trey Bisker of Wilton is also in that weight class.  At 182 Tyler Mettler of New London will wrestle Mason Lyons of Bellevue in the 1st round, 5th ranked Jordon Challis of Tipton is in that weight class too.  At 195 Alfredo Delacruz of Waco will wrestle Clayton Juhl of North Cedar in the 1st round,  #8 ranked Brennen Grimm of English Valleys is in that weight class.  At 285 #6 ranked Avery Jacobs of New London will tangle with Logan O’Connor of Lisbon in round 1, Joshua Shumaker of Waco wrestles 10th ranked Jacob Giese of West Branch.

Class 2A District at Fairfield is loaded with 10 Mediapolis  Bulldogs and 5 Columbus Community/WMU wrestlers.  At 106  4th ranked Josh Keller of Columbus wrestles Tiger Terpstra of Centerville.  113 Mitchell Griffin of Columbus has Ben Woolridge of Knoxville, 120 #9 Brennan Swafford Mediapolis wrestles Michael Cope of Centerville, #6 Kyle Anderson of Washington is in that class too.  126 Shea Swafford Mediapolis ranked #3 wrestles Noah Coatney of Centerville, #5 Tristan Clark of PCM is in this weight also.  132 #10 Cody McNeil wrestles Xavier Miller of PCM, #2 ranked Tristan Clark of Centerville is on the top side of the bracket.  138 #3 ranked Mason Buster has Cody Smith of Knoxville in the 1st round.  Austin Edwards of Columbus wrestles Kevin Woodhouse of Knoxville in the 1st round, #7 Blake Lawless of Albia is on the top of the bracket.  152 #7  Brad Conley of  Mediapolis wrestles Riley Spaur of Knoxville to open up, #3 Bryce Leshen of Albia is in the weight class also.  160 #2 ranked Cole Erickson of Mediapolis will open against Dylan Henderson of  Davis County.  170 #9 Luke Erickson of Mediapolis wrestles Ben Mason of Albia, #6 ranked Tucker Morrison of Columbus Community wrestles Ron Marshall of PCM.  182 Ethan Timmerman of Mediapolis will open against Tim Good of Chartion.  195  #1 Steven Hollaway of Mediapolis has Jacob West of Albia 1st, #2 ranked Brad Skubal also is in this bracket.  285 #5 Kyle Davis of Columbus Community/WMU wrestles Ben Kincart of Davis County 1st round.