Chamber honors Dave & Carmen Heaton as Citizens of the Year

Written by Theresa Rose on January 23, 2015

MOUNT PLEASANT—The Mount Pleasant Area Chamber of Commerce on Thursday honored State Representative Dave Heaton and his wife, Carmen, as 2014 Mount Pleasant Citizens of the Year.
The award, given at the 74th Annual Chamber of Commerce Banquet and Meeting of the Membership, held at Airport Road Vineyard, recognized the Heatons for their service to Iowa Wesleyan College, St. Alphonsus Catholic Church, and the community of Mount Pleasant and Southeast Iowa.
For 40 years David and Carmen Heaton provided a first class dining experience and gathering place for many at the greatly missed Iris Restaurant in Mount Pleasant. Their past and current volunteer activities and support efforts include:

· 20 years of service as State Representative for House District 84

· Henry County Health Center Board of Directors


· Kiwanis International

· Henry County Pork Producers

· Henry County Farm Bureau

· Iowa Licensed Beverage Association

· Iowa Wesleyan College

· St. Alphonsus Catholic Church organist and Knights of Columbus member

· Past President of Iowa Restaurant Association

· Former board member of the Mount Pleasant Area Chamber of Commerce

· Past Co-Chair of the Henry County Republican Party

The Heatons accepted the Citizen of the Year Award from Mr. Paul Dennison of KILJ AM & FM Radio, a Chamber of Commerce board member. The couple’s daughter, Mary Carrick, surprised them with a beautiful vocal performance introduction.

The 2014 Mount Pleasant Area Chamber of Commerce Volunteer of the Year Award went to Amy Becker of Amy Becker Photography. Becker served on the Chamber board from 2007-2013, but her service to the Alliance did not end there. She has dedicated countless hours capturing photos and volunteering her time at past Chamber events, including Fun Day Golf Outing and the Annual banquet. Her staff also dedicated much time designing Look Local First banners and coupon books for newcomers to Mount Pleasant. She was recognized by Chamber Alliance staff for her tireless work ethic and positive leadership.

Other Awards and Honors:

Chamber Board Member Appreciation—Paul Dennison of KILJ AM & FM Radio and Jason Bender of Lomont Molding LLC

2014 Chamber Board President— Shelley Doak of Henry County Health Center

Business Expansion— Brad Holtkamp Automotive and Henry County Health Center

Chamber Trustees—Henry County Health Center, Hearth & Home Technologies, Shottenkirk Automotive, SunnyBrook of Mount Pleasant Assisted Living, Two Rivers Bank & Trust, Veyance Technologies and Walmart Supercenter

Entrepreneur Excellence—Ryan & Sheila Matheney of Arbor Court, Chad McMullin of Farm Bureau Financial Services, Dr. Matt Donnolly of Mt. Pleasant Chiropractic and Sarah Lauer of Sarah’s Bridal Gallery