Access Energy Cooperative Scholarships awarded

Written by Theresa Rose on June 24, 2015

Three area high school graduates were recently named recipients of $500 scholarships from Access Energy Cooperative. Receiving the awards were Anna Steffensmeier, Alena Whitaker, and Kelsey Bryant.

Alena, daughter of Clark and Norma Whitaker of Hillsboro, plans to attend Iowa State University to study Biological Systems Engineering.

Anna, daughter of Glenn Steffensmeier, also of Hillsboro, also plans to Iowa State University to study Math Education.

Kelsey, daughter of Randy and Michele Bryant from Donnellson, plans to attend Iowa State University as well, and study Genetics and Environmental Science.

Access Energy Cooperative awards three $500 scholarships each year, one in each of its three districts. The parents or guardians of the applicant must be members of Access Energy Cooperative. Winners are chosen based on their academics, achievements, community involvement, and a submitted essay. The essays submitted this year were some of the best essays ever received. Congratulations to the winners!